Defining and Using Bulk Edit Profiles

Defining and Using Bulk Edit Profiles

What Are Bulk Edit Profiles?

Bulk Edit Profiles are predefined templates that help librarians perform bulk edits in a consistent and controlled manner. Instead of manually configuring each bulk edit job, users can create and reuse profiles that define what data to change and how.

Creating profiles is also a required step for scheduling bulk edit jobs — a feature planned for future releases.

Key Features

  • Reusable Templates: Profiles can be created for bulk edit jobs that are often repeated.

  • Permission-Based Access: Only authorized users can create, edit, delete, or lock profiles.

  • Superuser Controls: Profiles can be locked to prevent accidental changes.

  • ECS Support: Profiles created in the central tenant can be executed against inventory records in member tenants.


Managing Bulk Edit Profiles

Creating a Bulk Edit Profile

Purpose: Define rules for editing records in bulk.

Steps:

  • Navigate to Settings → Bulk Edit, and select a record type under Inventory profiles or Other profiles.

image-20251024-145627.png
  • Click the New button to open the profile creation form.

    image-20251024-162855.png
  • In the Summary accordion fill out the information about the profile so that it can easily be identified during the bulk edit job execution.

    image-20251024-164146.png
  • In the Bulk Edits section, specify the data changes—similar to how you would configure them in the Bulk Edit form within the Bulk Edit app.

image-20251024-150936.png

Result: Once saved, the profile is immediately available for use in bulk edit jobs within Bulk edit app.

image-20251024-163522.png
image-20251024-163556.png

 


Editing an Existing Profile

Purpose: Update rules or field in an existing profile.

Steps:

  • Navigate to Settings → Bulk Edit, and select a record type under Inventory profiles or Other profiles.

image-20260220-215938.png
  • Click on the row with the profile that needs to be edited. Once the form with the profile opens, from the Actions menu select Edit option.

image-20260220-220134.png
  • Make required changes and save your updates.

Result: Once saved, the changes made in the profile are immediately available for use in bulk edit jobs within Bulk edit app.


Duplicating a Profile

Purpose: Reuse an existing profile with slight modifications.

Steps:

  • Navigate to Settings → Bulk Edit, and select a record type under Inventory profiles or Other profiles.

  • Click on the row with the profile that needs to be edited. Once the form with the profile opens, from the Actions menu select Duplicate option.

image-20260220-220134.png

That opens a new profile creation form, prepopulated with the data from the original profile. The name of the profile is prefixed with “Copy of”.

image-20260220-220526.png
  • Make necessary changes and save your updates.

Result: Once saved, the new profile is immediately available for use in bulk edit jobs within Bulk edit app.


Locking and Unlocking a Profile

Purpose: Prevent accidental changes or deletion to a profile that’s critical or in use.

Who Can Do This: Users with special permissions. For details refer to: Authorization Rules for Bulk Edit Profiles

Steps:

  • Navigate to Settings → Bulk Edit, and select a record type under Inventory profiles or Other profiles.

image-20260220-215938.png
  • Click on the row with the profile that needs to be edited. Once the form with the profile opens, from the Actions menu select Edit option.

image-20260220-220134.png
  • Click “Lock”. The selected value will lock the profile and the unselected value will make the profile unlocked.

image-20260220-220306.png

Result: Locking the profile makes it read-only and prevents deletion. Locked profile can only be duplicated.

Deleting a Profile

Purpose: Remove outdated or unused profiles.

Steps:

  • Navigate to Settings → Bulk Edit, and select a record type under Inventory profiles or Other profiles.

image-20260220-215938.png
  • Click on the row with the profile that needs to be edited. Once the form with the profile opens, from the Actions menu select Delete option.

image-20260220-220134.png
  • Confirm deletion of the profile.

image-20260220-224920.png

 

Result: The profile is removed and not available any longer for use in bulk edit jobs within Bulk edit app. Note: Deleted profiles cannot be restored.


Using Bulk Edit Profiles

Using a Profile in a Bulk Edit Job

Purpose: Apply saved rules to a bulk edit job.

Steps:

  • Start a bulk edit job in the Bulk Edit app.

  • Select records to edit.

  • Choose a saved profile to apply.

  • Execute the job.

  • image-20251024-170646.png
    image-20251024-172235.png

     

System Behavior:

  • Matches the profile to the selected records.

  • Applies the defined rules consistently.

Bulk Edit Profiles in Consortia Environments

Bulk edit profiles are tenant specific. This means that a profile created in a given tenant can be used only for bulk edit jobs executed within that same tenant. However, the job may still affect records in other tenants.

For example, when a bulk edit job is executed in the central tenant and updates holdings or item records in member tenants, the bulk edit profile defined in the central tenant must use reference data that is also available in the affected member tenants.

Central Tenant

Profile Creation

  • Profiles are only available in the Central tenant.

  • Can create profiles for all supported record types, including holdings and items.

  • For records not stored in the Central tenant (holdings or items records), reference data used in the profile must be:

    • Defined in Central, or

    • Shared across tenants

Job Execution

  • Can execute cross-tenant jobs, but only for holdings and item records from member tenants.

  • If reference data in the profile is missing in the target member tenant, records are not updated, and an error log is generated.


Member Tenant

Profile Creation

  • Profiles are only available in the member tenant.

  • Uses managed reference data that is available in that tenant.

Job Execution

  • Jobs can be executed only on that tenant’s records.

  • Cross-tenant execution is not supported.